Why Am I Taking IST600 — Blogging for Information Professionals?

Hi there!

My daughter Chloe and me, last year at the Dutchess County Fair

My name is Veronica and I am a graduate library science student at Syracuse University. I live in the Hudson Valley region of New York, where I grew up and where I have spent most of my life, and attend most of my classes at Syracuse online. My undergraduate degree is in East Asian Studies with a concentration on  Japan. My interests in the library science realm tend a bit toward the technical: mobile librarianship, Web 2.0 technologies and gaming in particular. I really like the idea of the library as an exciting community meeting place and promoter of active learning and creativity. When I’m not at my job (I currently work at a sporting goods store) or doing school work, my life sounds like that of a 10-year-old: Video games (Portal 2 right now), geocaching/hiking and watching cowboy movies.

Why am I taking this class in particular? Well, I have been blogging nearly every day (sometimes multiple times a day) since early 2003, but my primary blog is a personal one, and obviously very different from something that I would do as part of my professional persona. I think it is important to know how to promote yourself online, to be able to strike a balance between presenting yourself professionally while still allowing your unique personality and interests to shine through. Since I have been writing in my personal blog for so long, I am already comfortable with the idea of speaking to an audience online, but I will need some reprogramming to learn how to do this in a more controlled, well thought-out manner. So, here I am! IST 600 — Blogging for Information Professionals to the rescue?

Author: sayaveronica

coffee addict and radical librarian!

Leave a Reply

